FEB 20


Your entire Board of Directors worked hard and long hours
over the two full days of the February 1‑3, 2018.  My sincerest thanks to Cathy Coleman,
Vice‑president, Malissa Williams, IPP, Sandra Welch, Ex‑officio, and all the
District Directors. Thank you to Mike Fitch, Executive Director, Bill Theodore,
Assistant Executive Director, and Mona Schultz, Executive Administrator.  The TASO staff was invaluable with their time
and help in preparing for this meeting and during the two days.


We welcomed two new District Directors to the board:  David Harris, District 7 and Jack Zaldivar,
District 11.  Robert Cantu returned to
the board as the District 5 Director. 
Also, Kevin Carlyle serviced as Proxy for David Plaisance, District 13
Director during this meeting.


We were happy to welcome Bryan Bunselmeyer, TAPPS Executive
Director and Robert Huckabee, TAPPS Compliance/Athletic Director, and Lee
Grisham, TGCA Assistant Executive Director to the meeting.  They all praised the volleyball division on
the great job done by all officials during the 2017‑18 season.


Many changes were proposed by the committees during their
reports.  Numerous Operating Procedures
proposals were passed, and an update was passed for the Dual Membership Policy,
including the name change to Multi‑Chapter Membership Policy.  Those changes will be made and the updated
Operating Procedures and Multi‑Chapter Membership Policy will be posted to the
TASO website soon.


The BOD will be working hard in the next few months getting
ready for the 2018 Volleyball Annual State Meeting this year in Garland,
Texas.  The date that officials will need
to attend for clinic credit is Saturday, July 14, 2018.  Please put the date on your calendar.  We will once again start the day at 8:30 AM
with the Break‑out sessions and continue after lunch with the General
Session.  TASO will announce when
registration is open for the State Meeting. 
You must pre‑register online to attend at the $35 fee paid during the
Membership Renewal process.  Don’t wait
until you get to Garland to register or you will pay an extra $10 late
registration fee.  Registration will
close promptly at 8:30 and anyone coming in after that will not be allowed to
register and will not receive credit for attending the state meeting.  You must attend each of the four Break‑out
sessions and the General Session and be scanned following each session, to
receive education credit.  We will again
have a raffle for the gift baskets given by each district.  Also, at the end of the General Session, a
drawing for the $250 gift card will be held. 
You must be present to win!!!


On Friday, July 13, 2018 at 12:00 PM, the Volleyball
Division will hold the Annual Board of Directors meeting.  We will have the Chapter Officers’ Workshop
on Friday evening at 5:00 PM.  The
president and secretary from each chapter, along with all District Directors,
are required to attend this workshop.  A
proxy may attend for either the president and/or secretary.



The dates for Volleyball Regional Clinics have been
tentatively set.  The times and locations
are TBD.

July 21: McAllen

July 22: Overton

July 28: Lubbock

July 28: Houston

July 29: San Antonio





This year the District Director elections will take place
for districts 2,4,6,8,10,12.  You may
declare your intention to run by informing the TASO office at volleyball@taso.org between August 1st
and October 1st.


The UIL Legislative Council has approved the new travel
reimbursement plan.  Per UIL 1204, all
chapters will use the Mileage bands or Metro plan.  Each chapter should prepare a list of each
school that they service with the mileage dollar amount that should be charged for
that location.


Please remember to contact your District Director with any
questions, concerns and more importantly, those things that our Chapters and
Members have done for the sport or their community.  They are your liaison to the TASO Office.


We all should know the answer to the numerous things that
‘What does TASO do for you?’  But, ‘What
can TASO do for you?’


  See you at the 2018 Volleyball
Annual State Meeting!

Shelley Witte, TASO Volleyball President