MAY 04


For twenty‑six years the Tyler Lone Star Softball Umpire Chapter has hosted a softball tournament during the last week of February.  The tournament has grown from a few teams to now 32 varsity teams and upwards of 12 junior varsity teams competing at six different fields across east Texas.  This tournament has grown from teams that our chapter covers to teams traveling from northwest of Fort Worth, down to Little River Academy, to Huntington, to Elysian Fields, to Paris.  These teams come together to play softball and the end result is the proceeds from the tournament are turned right around and given back to graduating seniors. We believe this may be the largest high school softball tournament in the state during the season.


Softball District 6 Director and current Tyler Lone Star Chapter President Oscar Strain said “this is the largest group of ladies that have ever applied for the scholarship.  We had 31 ladies apply and we are only able to provide scholarships to 26, $500.00 scholarships.  They must be a senior and they have played in our tournament.” “I am excited every year that we do this and are able to give back to these young ladies.  Many of which we get to umpire for during their high school tenure.”  Strain went on to say “this would not be possible without the support of the entire chapter of umpires we have.  These guys and gals take off from work to cover our tournament, which they do not get paid for.  They have as much heart into the tournament as the coaches and teams do.”


These scholarships were awarded on May 1, 2022, at a special meeting of the Tyler Lone Star Umpire Chapter at the Tyler Rose Garden.  Families, friends, award winners, and their coaches were present for the awards.  Coaches were given an opportunity to say something about their scholarship recipients.  Strain closed with “there is nothing sweeter than to see the smiles, tears, and laughter of the young ladies as they receive their scholarships.”


The scholarship winners are:

Ryleigh Mills‑ Lufkin

Mia Concha‑ Lufkin

Emma Barrentine‑ Brownsboro

Kylee Powers‑ Alto

Kelsey O’Brien‑ Elysian Fields

Kenzie King‑ Bullard

Kaylee Paul‑ Bullard

Darby Woodrum‑ Lindale

Ellie Watkins‑Lindale

Kylei Griffin‑ Chapel Hill

Madelyn Flanery‑ Tyler Legacy

Brooke Davis‑ Tyler Legacy

Kaylee Rivenbark‑ Huntington

Maddy Bolin‑ Grand Saline

Gabbie Lewis‑ Grand Saline

Reiny Luman‑ Quitman

Alexis O’Neal‑ Quitman

Lindsey Davis‑ Troup

Caylee Mayfield‑ Spring Hill

Avery Taylor‑ Whitehouse

Grace Pippin‑ Hughes Springs

Karmen Searcy‑ Hughes Springs

Avery Killough‑ Van

Isabella Garza‑ Van

Haley Boehm‑ Grapeland

Claire Herring‑ Elkhart


Click HERE to see the local television news coverage.